STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

ORDER ESTABLISHING STANDING COMMITTEE TO IMPLEMENT RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE MINNESOTA TASK FORCE ON GENDER FAIRNESS IN THE COURTS

WHEREAS this court, by its order of June 8, 1987, directed the Minnesota Task Force on Gender Fairness in the Courts to document the existence of gender bias where found in the judicial system of Minnesota, to recommend methods for its elimination and to monitor implementation of approved reform measures; and

WHEREAS the Minnesota Task Force on Gender Fairness in the Courts has recommended the appointment at this time of a standing committee to oversee implementation of the recommendations of the Task Force to insure that the monitoring function will be carried out as effectively as possible and to maintain the desired level of continuity;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Committee on Gender Fairness in the Courts be, and hereby is, established to:

- I. Implement Task Force recommendations and monitor implementation efforts on an on-going basis;
- 2. Work with Continuing Legal Education for State Court Personnel, Board of Continuing Legal Education, and the National Judicial Education Program to develop judicial and legal education programs on gender fairness;
- 3. Work with the Office of the State Court Administrator to establish a statistical data base appropriate for monitoring areas of Task Force concerns and performing studies in furtherance of the committee's charge; and
- 4. Evaluate the effectiveness of approved reform measures which have been implemented to assure gender fairness in our court processes.
- 5. Submit a yearly written report to the Chief Justice and the Court regarding the work and recommendations of the Standing Committee.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following persons be, and hereby are, appointed, effective January 1, 1989, as members of the Committee on Gender Fairness in the Courts for the term of years indicated below: Hon. Rosalie E. Wahl Minnesota Supreme Court 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 Term: three years

Ember D. Reichgott Minnesota State Senator 7701 48th Avenue North New Hope, MN 55428 Term: one year

Hon. Jack J. Litman District Court Judge St. Louis County Courthouse Virginia, MN 55792 Term: two years

Dr. Nancy Zingale Public Member/Social Scientist 436 Holly Avenue # 3 St. Paul, MN 55102 Term: three years

Hon. Mary Louise Klas District Court Judge 15 Kellogg Blvd. W. # 1639 St. Paul, MN 55102 Term: one year Hon. Jonathan Lebedoff District Court Judge 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 Term: two years

Sue K. Dosal State Court Administrator 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 Term: three years

Hon. George I. Harralson District Court Judge Lyon County Courthouse Marshall, MN 56258 Term: one year

Martin J. Costello Attorney 101 Fifth Street E. # 2100 St. Paul, MN 55101 Term: two years

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that members of the Committee on Gender Fairness in the Courts may be reappointed for successive three year terms upon order of this court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following be appointed ex officio members of the committee:

Director of Continuing Education for State Court Personnel 1745 University Avenue St. Paul, MN 55105 Frank V. Harris MSBA Continuing Legal Education Director 140 N. Milton Street St. Paul, MN 55104

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Honorable Rosalie E. Wahl be, and hereby is, designated as chairperson.

DATED: Dec 22, 1988

APPELLATE COURTS

DEC \$3 1988



BY THE COURT

a_ll Douglas H. Amdahl